MBA Overview

The mission of the Minnesota Bankers Association is to provide its members the leadership, services, and support necessary to ensure a vital, growing financial industry.

Since 1889 the Minnesota Bankers Association (MBA) has been serving Minnesota's banking community.  We are extremely proud of our long history and our close working relationship with our members. Along with the education, legal, legislative, and insurance areas, members receive value added quality products and services to ensure that they receive the most from their membership.

Membership in the MBA is available to commercial banks, trust companies and savings associations with an office in the state of Minnesota. We are pleased to have a very strong membership base. More than 95% of the Minnesota chartered banks and savings and loans belong to the MBA. In addition, MBA has over 120 associate members. This strong membership base allows the MBA to provide all members with unparalleled advocacy and exceptional products and services.

The governing body of the Minnesota Bankers Association is its Board of Directors consisting of a Chair, Vice Chair/Treasurer, Immediate Past Chair, one Director from each of MBA's six districts, and two At-Large Directors. The association leadership changes every June.

The chair of the association is Dean Toft, CEO of HomeTown Bank in Redwood Falls, pictured at left.

Toft joined Redwood Falls Federal Savings and Loan Association (which later became HomeTown Bank) in 1998, and has been Chief Executive Officer and Director of HomeTown Bank and its parent company, Redwood Financial, Inc., since 2004.

Toft was the District 7 representative on the MBA Board of Directors for three years, and also served on the Finance Committee, the Savings Bank Task Force, as well as the MBA Government Relations Council. He is currently a trustee for the MBA Employee Benefits Trust.

Toft has been very active in many local organizations over the years. He is past president of the Redwood Valley Booster Club, the Redwood Area Education Foundation, the Redwood Falls Rotary Club, the Redwood Falls Chamber of Commerce, the Redwood Falls Port Authority, the Redwood Falls Golf Club, Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, DAC Enterprises, Inc. and the Redwood Falls United Way. He is a past president of the Redwood County Bankers Association. Toft presently serves as a director of the Redwood Area Development Corporation and a director of the Redwood County Economic Development Authority.

[view the other board members]

The MBA is located at 8050 Washington Avenue South, Suite 150, Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (map and directions).